Suspiria: 45th Anniversary Soundtrack – Prog Rock Version (CD Review)

  • Reviewed by: Tim Salmons
  • Review Date: Oct 27, 2022
  • Format: Blu-ray Disc
  • Bookmark and Share
Suspiria: 45th Anniversary Soundtrack – Prog Rock Version (CD Review)



Release Date(s)

2022 (August 9, 2022)


Rustblade Records
  • Film/Program Grade: N/A
  • Video Grade: N/A
  • Audio Grade: A
  • Extras Grade: N/A
  • Overall Grade: A


For many listeners outside of Italy, Dario Argento’s Suspiria and George Romero’s Dawn of the Dead put Goblin (referred to as The Goblins in the credits for Dawn of the Dead) on the map. Their blend of hard rock and electronic beats mixed with layered melodies became froever synonymous with Italian horror. Though the line-up has changed periodically, the group’s founder, Claudio Simonetti, continues to make music and tour with the band. Today they’ve built upon their legacy as one of the finest live acts around, particularly during their 2018 tour while the remake of Suspiria was in general release.

Claudio Simonetti returns for film’s 45th anniversary with a slightly new take on the original material composed for Suspiria, providing a Prog Rock version of the original music. Perfection can’t be repeated or improved upon, but the 45th Anniversary Edition of the Suspiria soundtrack doesn’t attempt to do either. It’s essentially the same score you’ve always known, but with added clarity and additional instrumentation that mixes beautifully with the old and not taking anything away from it. Suspiria is known for its haunted, hard-driving, and ultimately resplendent theatrical score, made up of various influences. This new-ish version doesn’t spoil any of that.

It’s actually not too far removed from the original score, adding additional layers to music that was already great to begin with. It expands upon the electronic riffs of the opening track, Suspiria, layers distorted, fuzz-laden guitar and keyboard sections to Markos, smolders with a lovely acoustic backdrop on Sighs, and adds a sexy layer of saxophone to Black Forest. Blind Concert takes pieces of Suspiria but crescendos into its own lush experience, while Witch explodes with incredible drum and guitar work into a funky but spooky beat. Also included is a more traditional version of the Suspiria theme, labeled the Daemonia Version, as well as the ballerina music of Death Valtzer, which softly and appropriately closes the album.

There are no bonus tracks, and things are kept short and sweet, as they should be. I personally am a fan of less is more when it comes to albums, unless there’s a specific intention to create an extended tableau of musical ideas and thematics. In the case of Suspiria, the soundtrack was already brief, and this release continues with that tradition, as it should. Many may find it to be a slicker version of the original soundtrack, but there’s no denying how well produced the music is.

The 45th Anniversary Prog Rock version of the Suspiria soundtrack is presented on compact disc in gatefold packaging featuring stills from the film and artwork inspired by it. Purists will also be pleased to know that it’s also available on vinyl. Regardless, the following tracks are included:

  1. Suspiria (4:43)
  2. Markos (5:27)
  3. Sighs (5:55)
  4. Witch (5:34)
  5. Suspiria (Daemonia Version) (5:00)
  6. Black Forest (6:14)
  7. Blind Concert (6:25)
  8. Death Valtzer (1:50)

Suspiria: 45th Anniversary Edition – Prog Rock Version is a gorgeous piece of hard rock electronica, and a worthy supplement to an already stellar film score.

- Tim Salmons

(You can follow Tim on social media at these links: Twitter and Facebook. And be sure to subscribe to his YouTube channel here.)