My Two Cents
Wednesday, 11 September 2013 15:57

Robot Chicken: S6, Funimation's Nov (including Akira), Much Ado & lost short film Black Angel!

  • Print
  • Email

All right, we’ve got a quick update for you today, but we do have some release news and whatnot…

First, Russell Hammond has posted the Release Dates and Artwork update with all the latest Blu-ray, DVD and Video Game cover artwork and pre-order links.  As always a portion of anything you order through our links goes to help support our work here at The Bits and we greatly appreciate it!

Now then… I’ve updated my Star Trek Into Darkness Blu-ray review with a fully complete listing of all the exclusive content available via Target, Best Buy/Cinema Now and iTunes.  So do check it out.  One hopes the studio will eventually revisit the title on BD as a truly complete special edition, perhaps when all the retail exclusive content deals expire.  In the meantime, now you can at least see what’s available.  And at the very least, anyone who buys the BD and redeems the digital copy code through iTunes can get access to the enhanced commentary, so that’s something.  [Read on here…]

In other news today, Warner Home Video and Adult Swim have set Robot Chicken: Season 6 for Blu-ray and DVD release on 10/8.  Bonus content will include outtakes, multiple behind-the-scenes featurettes, deleted animatics and much more.

Lionsgate has set Joss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing for release on Blu-ray and DVD on 10/8 (SRP $24.99 and $19.98).  Extras will include a pair of audio commentaries (one with Whedon alone and another with Whedon and the cast), 2 featurettes and a music video.

Lionsgate has also set Shaquille O’Neal Presents All Star Comedy Jam – Live from Atlanta for DVD only release on 10/1.

Sony has set Grown Ups 2 for Blu-ray Combo and DVD release on 11/5.

Funimation has set announced their November anime and TV release slate, which will include: Hetalia: World Series – The Complete Series (DVD – 11/5), the Akira: 25th Anniversary Edition  (BD Combo and DVD – 11/12 – “This release features all three English dubs that have occurred since 1989, giving fans the option to choose the one that they have the deepest connection with.”), Maken-Ki: The Complete Series (BD Combo Limited Edition and BD Combo – 11/12), Wolf Children (BD and DVD – 11/12), Good Luck Girl!: The Complete Series (BD Combo Limited Edition and BD Combo – 11/19), Syfy’s Lost Girl: Season Three (BD and DVD – 11/19) and One Piece: Strong World (BD Combo and DVD – 11/19).

Millennium Entertainment has set Plush for DVD only release on 10/15.

Gaiam Vivendi Entertainment and Sonar Entertainment have set Exploding Sun for release on Blu-ray and DVD on 10/15.

One Village Entertainment has set Frat Brothers for DVD only release on 10/8.

And Image Entertainment has set the horror film Shiver for DVD only release on 10/8. 

Finally, in other news today, here’s a great story that should be of interest to you Star Wars fans:  A believed-lost short film called Black Angel, which originally debuted theatrically in front of The Empire Strikes Back in parts of Europe and Australia – and which was supported by George Lucas and 20th Century Fox at the time – has just resurfaced.  It’s been restored and is going to screen for the first time in 33 years at the Mill Valley Film Festival in Mill Valley, CA on 10/13.  (See details here.)  How cool is that?  What a neat find!  One hopes it will find its way to Blu-ray or DVD at some point.  More details on the film, its history and its restoration can be found here at the excellent ars technica website. 

Here’s a look at the Blu-ray cover artwork for Robot Chicken: Season 6, Much Ado About Nothing and the Akira: 25th Anniversary Edition

Robot Chicken: Season 6 (Blu-ray Disc)    Much Ado About Nothing (Blu-ray Disc)    Akira: 25th Anniversary Edition (Blu-ray Disc)

Stay tuned...

- Bill Hunt

Contact Bill Hunt

Please type your full name.
Invalid email address.
Please send us a message.
Invalid Input