My Two Cents

Doctor Detroit is coming from Shout! in April, plus lots more new release announcements

January 3, 2018 - 7:20 pm   |   by
  • Print
  • Email

All right, we’ve got a couple things for you today here at The Bits

First, Tim Salmons has just turned in a pair of new Blu-ray reviews, including Shout! Factory’s A Town Called Panic: The Collection and also Scream Factory’s Hell Night: Collector’s Edition. Both are well worth a look.

Also here at The Bits today, our own Russell Hammond has posted the weekly update of the Release Dates & Artwork section featuring all the latest Blu-ray, DVD, and 4K Ultra HD cover artwork and pre-order links. As always, we appreciate it when you shop for great movie titles and other items through our Amazon links, so thank you! [Read on here…]

LICK HERE to shop through our links and SUPPORT THE BITS CLICK HERE to visit The Bits on Facebook CLICK HERE to visit The Bits on Twitter

Meanwhile, Scream Factory has just revealed a few of their planned April Blu-ray titles, which are expected to include Crucible of Horror (1971), Full Moon High (1981), and Superbeast (1972) on 4/10, as well as Daughters of Satan (1972) and a double feature BD of Troll (1986) and Troll II (1990) on 4/24. Additional details are TBA.

Shout! has also just announced that its next Shout Select title, due on 4/24, will be Doctor Detroit (1983) starring Dan Aykroyd.

In other news, Mill Creek Entertainment has set a Lords of Dogtown: Unrated Extended Edition Blu-ray for release on 3/6. The company will also release a Kevin Bacon 6-Movie Collection on 3/6 that includes Hollow Man, Trapped, In the Cut, Where the Truth Lies, Flatliners, and The Big Picture.

Lionsgate will release The Ballad of Lefty Brown on Blu-ray and DVD on 2/13.

Echo Bridge will release Taboo, starring David Hayman and Tom Hardy, on Blu-ray and DVD on 2/6.

Kino has set The Outlaw (1943) for release on 2/27, along with Urusei Yatsura: Beautiful Dreamer, and The Oldest Profession. The company will also release Underground (1995) on 2/20.

MVD will release The Man from Earth: Holocene on Blu-ray and DVD on 2/27.

A distributor called Altered Innocence will release Sleeping Giant on Blu-ray on 2/27.

Mondo Macabro will release The Blood Spattered Bride on Blu-ray on 2/13.

Arrow Academy has set Federico Fellini’s Orchestra Rehearsal (1978) for Blu-ray release on 2/13.

And Cinedigm will release Loving Vincent, starring Saoirse Ronan on Blu-ray on 2/20, with the DVD release due on 1/16.

Back tomorrow with more. Stay tuned…

- Bill Hunt

(You can follow Bill on social media at these links: Twitter and Facebook)


Contact Bill Hunt

Please type your full name.
Invalid email address.
Please send us a message.
Invalid Input

Bits Latest Tweets

The Digital Bits
Today on The Bits – @WBHomeEnt bows The Flash: Season 7 on #Bluray, plus @imprint_films’ September slate & major new #4K #UltraHD pre-orders…
The Digital Bits
Now available for pre-order on Amazon: The UNDERWORLD: LIMITED EDITION 5-MOVIE COLLECTION in #4K #UltraHD from @SonyPicsHomeEnt. Street date: 10/5. Pre-order here...…
The Digital Bits
Now available for pre-order on Amazon: Stanley Kubrick’s A CLOCKWORK ORANGE in #4K #UltraHD from @WBHomeEnt! Street date: 9/21. Pre-order here...…